Major sponsors

Major Sponsors

Search our website

TV Schedule

TV Schedule

Nationals TV

iTV Live


Categories Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge

Kumho Tyres V8 Touring Cars

-Latest News

Jun 13, 2015

18-year-old McAdam claims maiden V8 Touring Car win – 14-year-old second!

TEENAGE drivers have dominated the opening race in round two of the Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series today at Winton Motor Raceway.

Eighteen-year-old Liam McAdam claimed his first Kumho Series pole position earlier today and converted it into his maiden victory in the category after leading the entire 10-lap distance.

Jun 9, 2015

THE door is wide open this weekend at Winton for a driver to take the lead in the Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series as the popular category for former V8 Supercars returns to the track after a two and a half month lay-off.

Jack Perkins won the Sandown series opener in March driving for Eggleston Motorsport but was competing on a one-off basis, opening the door to a range of drivers to seize the series lead in this weekend’s second round of the series.

Kumho Tyres V8 Touring Car Standings
1st Liam McAdam 575

2nd Alex Rullo 505

3rd Steve Briffa 379

4th Jim Pollicina 372

5th Steve Devjak 324


The Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car (AV8TC) Series grew from the seed of an idea that the AU Falcon and VT/VX Commodore V8 Supercars were to become ineligible to compete in the V8 Supercar Development Series. With so many 'de-registered' cars looking for a place to race, the V8TC Series was created in 2008.

Not only does the series provide a home for 'retired' and/or historically significant V8 Supercars, it enables teams/drivers to continue to race these iconic and exciting race cars, and just as importantly, it opens up another entry point for young drivers looking to forge a career in Australia's most popular category of racing.

The category is subject to strict technical requirements, although the cars ostensibly conform to the same V8 Supercar regulations to which they were built. The series has also been approved as an official CAMS sanctioned National Series. CAMS appointed stewards; a technical director and full national level medical resources are present at each event.

This season will reveal the true value of the category, with not just formerly retired cars making an appearance, but drivers new to Nationals level motorsport, and new to V8 Touring Cars. Already it appears that the basis of the success of the Kumho V8 Touring Car Series is two-fold; one - to provide drivers who always wanted to be a V8 Supercar pilot but didn't have the time nor the resources, an opportunity to fulfill their dreams, and two - to provide young upcoming drivers who still harbor dreams (and have time on their hands) to become professional Supercar pilots a chance to learn their trade in the cut and thrust of Touring Car action.

Whatever happens in 2016, it is sure to be a memorable year, and the champion at seasons end, will have earned their title.



Discontinued models from the V8 Supercar Championship Series; AU/BA/BF Ford Falcons, and VT/VX/VY/VZ/VE model Holden Commodores.


They may be considered outdated 'main game' V8 Supercars (which is heritage of all the cars in the field), but at just on a second off the pace of the leading Development Series cars (many of whom would comfortably make the grid in the Championship Series), these cars are by no means 'retired'.
Powerplants are as they were in V8 Supercars, however to keep costs down, revs are restricted to 7000rpm. The 5.0-lite Windsor (Ford) or small block Chevrolet (Holden) powerplants still produce up to and over 600bhp.


2008: Chris Smerdon
(AU Falcon)
2009: Adam Wallis
(VX Commodore)
2010: Tony Evangelou
(BA Falcon)
2011: Terry Wyhoon
(BA Falcon)
2012: Josh Hunter
(BA Falcon)
2013: Shae Davies
(BA Falson)
2014: Justin Ruggier
(VZ Commodore)
2015: Liam McAdam
(VZ Commodore)

2016 EVENTS:

Round 1        1-4 April                     Sandown Raceway

Round 2        20-22 May                Winton Raceway (V8 Supercars)

Round 3        22-24 July                 Queensland Raceway (V8 Supercars)

Round 4        9-11 September       Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Round 5         27-29 October      Sydney Motorsport Park (Muscle Car Masters)