Commodore Cup National Series

The Commodore Cup national series has entertained spectators around Australia with close competition and tight racing since its introduction in 1994. The series started with VB, VC and VH Commodores all running a 4.2-litre V8 engine through a four-speed manual gearbox.

In 2004, the VS Commodore bodyshell was introduced to the class, although mechanical specifications between the newer and the older bodyshells remained identical.

Since its inception, Commodore Cup has evolved as a very popular category catering for competitors from all different backgrounds, from weekend warriors who enjoy the recreational aspects of motor-racing, to young-guns out of go-karts looking to learn touring-car racecraft in order to make a successful transition to V8 Supercars.

Indeed, Commodore Cup has been the breeding ground for many successful drivers, the most prominent being current V8 Supercar star Lee Holdsworth. Other notable drivers to have progressed from Commodore Cup to higher levels of Australian motorsport include Paul Dumbrell (V8 Supercar Championship), Marcus Zukanovic, Geoff Emery and Brett Holdsworth (Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series).

Category: Commodore Cup National Series|
Type: At the national level, primarily VS model V8 powered Commodores
Notable Names:
Gary Baxter
Dean Crosswell
Wayne Wakefield
Christian D’Agostin
Geoff Emery
Marcus Zukanovic
Brett Holdsworth
Lee Holdsworth
Tony Bates

2010 Shannons Nationals Events:
Wakefield Park
Phillip Island
Eastern Creek

Home Nationals Categories Multimedia Contact