Important forms and information:
(you may need to right-click on the document and select ‘Save Target As’, or similar)
Event Schedule- updated April 22 (.XLS Spreadheet)

Event Entries (.XLS Spreadheet)

Please click here for event-specific team and media documentation
What you will see on track:
The Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship for the CAMS Gold Star
Commodore Cup National Series
Saloon Cars
Round 3 of 8
Round 2 of 6
Round 2 of 5
Kerrick Sports Sedan National Series
Kerrick Sports Sedan National Series
Round 3 of 6
About the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit:


The Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit is situated on Bells Beach Road on Phillip Island.

From Melbourne, it is approximately a two hour drive along the F1 Eastern Arterial via Cranbourne.

Phillip Island annually hosts the Australian round of the MotoGP championships, the World Superbikes, as well as the Bathurst 1000 prelude, the L&H; 500 for V8 Supercars.


Phillip Island has world class facilities, including a museum and a public go-kart track. Full on site catering is available over race weekend.


In 1951, a group of six local businessmen decided to build a new track. About 2 km away from the original circuit, it still bears the corner name signs of the original circuit. As the piece of available land was on the edge of the coast, the track is known for its steep grades – the highest 57 metres – which caused cost overruns and delays in track opening. The new track hosted its first race in 1956, but after extensive damage from the 1962 Armstrong 500, the circuit could not afford repairs and the race moved to Bathurst.

The circuit reopened in 1966 and hosted the Phillip Island 500K endurance race, final round of the Australian Manufacturers’ Championship, from 1971 to 1977. But again, due to its testing terrain, the circuit required much maintenance and slowly declined through the 1970s. It was farmed by its owners while closed and was then sold in 1985 in preparation for reopening, but did not do so until 1989 after agreement on a long term lease and rebuild agreement. The World Motorcycle Championship gave the circuit a grand re-opening in 1989 with a brilliant race long dice in the 500 cc division between Wayne Gardner, Wayne Rainey, Christian Sarron and Kevin Magee. The race was won by Gardner to the delight of the huge crowd. It hosted its first World Superbike race in 1990. Mathew Close won the first race in 1990 by 11.31 sec. The Australian Touring Car Championship also returned in 1990 with Dick Johnson winning.


TV Times (Check local guides for details):
Speedweek: 1PM, 16th May Inside Speed: 12th May
Event Particulars:
Ticket Prices: $15 Saturday (concession $10), $30 Sunday (concession $20), $35 weekend.


Home Nationals Categories Multimedia Contact