Major sponsors

Major Sponsors









Search our website

TV Schedule

TV Schedule

iTV Live

iTV Live


Categories Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge

Kumho Tyres V8 Touring Cars

Latest News

Nov 21, 2016

The 2017 Kumho Tyre Australian Touring Car Series will compete at one CAMS National Racing Championships round next season.

Click through to read more.

2016 Kumho Tyre V8 Touring Car Series
1 Taz Douglas 598

2 Tyler Greenbury 496

3 Joshua Smith 489

4 Jim Pollicina 353

5 Chris Smerdon 337


The Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car (AV8TC) Series grew from the seed of an idea that the AU Falcon and VT/VX Commodore V8 Supercars were to become ineligible to compete in the V8 Supercar Development Series. With so many ‘de-registered’ cars looking for a place to race, the V8TC Series was created in 2008.

Not only does the series provide a home for ‘retired’ and/or historically significant V8 Supercars, it enables teams/drivers to continue to race these iconic and exciting race cars, and just as importantly, it opens up another entry point for young drivers looking to forge a career in Australia’s most popular category of racing.

The category is subject to strict technical requirements, although the cars ostensibly conform to the same V8 Supercar regulations to which they were built. The series has also been approved as an official CAMS sanctioned National Series. CAMS appointed stewards; a technical director and full national level medical resources are present at each event.

This season will reveal the true value of the category, with not just formerly retired cars making an appearance, but drivers new to Nationals level motorsport, and new to V8 Touring Cars. Already it appears that the basis of the success of the Kumho V8 Touring Car Series is two-fold; one – to provide drivers who always wanted to be a V8 Supercar pilot but didn’t have the time nor the resources, an opportunity to fulfill their dreams, and two – to provide young upcoming drivers who still harbor dreams (and have time on their hands) to become professional Supercar pilots a chance to learn their trade in the cut and thrust of Touring Car action.



Discontinued models from the V8 Supercar Championship Series; AU/BA/BF/FG Ford Falcons, and VT/VX/VY/VZ/VE/VE2 model Holden Commodores.


They may be considered outdated ‘main game’ V8 Supercars (which is heritage of all the cars in the field), but at just on a second off the pace of the leading Development Series cars (many of whom would comfortably make the grid in the Championship Series), these cars are by no means ‘retired’.
Powerplants are as they were in V8 Supercars, however to keep costs down, revs are restricted to 7000rpm. The 5.0-lite Windsor (Ford) or small block Chevrolet (Holden) powerplants still produce up to and over 600bhp.


2008: Chris Smerdon (AU Falcon)
2009: Adam Wallis (VX Commodore)
2010: Tony Evangelou (BA Falcon)
2011: Terry Wyhoon (BA Falcon)
2012: Josh Hunter (BA Falcon)
2013: Shae Davies (BA Falson)
2014: Justin Ruggier (VZ Commodore)
2015: Liam McAdam (VZ Commodore)
2016: Taz Douglas (VE Commodore)


Round 1: 1-4 April, Sandown Raceway
Round 2: 20-22 May, Winton Raceway (V8 Supercars)
Round 3: 22-24 July, Queensland Raceway (V8 Supercars)
Round 4: 9-11 September, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit
Round 5: 27-29 October, Sydney Motorsport Park (Muscle Car Masters)