Major sponsors

Major Sponsors









Search our website

TV Schedule

TV Schedule

iTV Live

iTV Live


Categories Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge

Aust Super Six Touring Car Series

Super six touring Car Standings
1st Gavin Ross 547

2nd Harley Phelan 464

3rd Ashley Jarvis 448

4th Simon Tabino 387

5th Brent Edwards 370


THE DIAL BEFORE YOU DIG AUSTRALIAN SUPER SIX TOURING CAR SERIES (formally known as Saloon Cars) is an initiation to the traditional Ford vs Holden rivalry.

The Saloon Car concept was created late in 1998 by a group of enthusiasts who thought that relatively late model six cylinder Holden Commodores and Ford Falcons would make inexpensive and popular race cars at an entry level.

2015 Television


The Technical Regulations were drafted and submitted to the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS) for approval, once they were approved test vehicles were constructed and tested. The regulations adopted many strictly controlled components including a brake and suspension package, wheels, tyres, computer (ECU), camshaft etc.

It took over eighteen months of research, testing and advice from people that had been involved in Production Car Racing in the early 90’s to finalise the regulations and to ensure that the parity between the Commodore V6 and the In-line OHC Falcon was even.

A sponsorship proposal outlining the Saloon Car concept was presented to Mullins Wheels in 1999. Mullins could see the potential that the category offered and agreed to be naming rights sponsors (CSA Alloy Wheels), this agreement was signed off before a Saloon Car had actually fired a shot in anger! Corporate support has also come from Supaloc – Steel Building Systems, Pedders Suspension, Cebco Brakes and Bridgestone Tyres.

These companies have made it possible for Saloon Cars to contest a National Championship/Series every year since 2000 each of which had television coverage. 2015 will be the Fourteenth season for the Super Six/Saloon Car category.

Saloon Cars are basically very simple. The vehicles are six cylinder production based model VY/VT Commodore and BA/AU Falcon sedans, slightly modified for competition, safety and reliability. The category is a full-on traditional battle between Holden and Ford that offers competitors high-speed thrills at a relatively low cost, and of course entertainment for the spectators.

Super Six racing has brought to Australian Motor Sport something that has been needed for a long time; close, high-speed competition at a realistic cost. Saloon Cars are viewed as a vital step in Australian Touring Car racing.



Derived from road going six-cylinder Ford Falcons (BAAU) and Holden Commodores (VYVT).


The Super Six category made its debut at the 2000 Adelaide 500 meeting in what was the first round of a three round series. The annual series was officially sanctioned by CAMS from 2002 and state level series have also evolved in New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia. Despite being powered by a six-cylinder engine (4.0-lite Ford, 3.8-litre Holden), the Saloon Cars are often the most exciting category on track with very little separating the contenders, leading to some incredible stoushes right through the field. With very little in performance advantage between brands and models, the skill comes down to the driver and the teams preparation.


2006: Bruce Heinrich
2007: Bruce Heinrich
2008: Steve Kwiatkowski
2009: Shawn Jamieson
2010: Tim Rowse
2011: Matt Lovell
2012: Simon Tabinor
2013: Simon Tabinor
2014: Gavin Ross

2015 EVENTS:

Round 1 27-29 March Sandown Raceway

Round 2 12-14 June Winton Raceway (Dial Before You Dig Challenge)

Round 3 3-5 July Sydney Motorsport Park

Round 4 7-9 August Queensland Raceway

Round 5 18-20 September Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Round 6 16-18 October Wakefield Park (Double Points Round)

Click here for the latest Super Six results

2014 Television