Affordable V8 Category Carries Momentum to Eastern Creek
13/07/2009 at 7:09:08 AM:

Australia’s most affordable V8 racing category, the TTM Traffic and Parking Commodore Cup national series, will host a field of 21 cars in this weekend’s fourth round at Eastern Creek Raceway.

It will be one of the biggest Commodore Cup fields ever seen at the Western Sydney circuit, evidence that the popularity of the Endurance Challenge at Winton a fortnight ago has created a wave of momentum.

Heading the charge will be series leader Jason Domaschenz. After teaming up with his brother Craig to take out the Endurance Challenge, “Domo” will be aiming to extend a points buffer over the hungry pack of drivers close behind him, including Brett Holdsworth, Tony Bates, Nick Parker and Michael Tancredi.

Eastern Creek also sees the emergence of some new competitors. Biante Touring Car Masters regular Tony Edwards makes his Commodore Cup debut in a VH Commodore, while Group C Historic driver Steve Yates takes over the reigns of the VS Commodore campaigned in the first half of the season by Phil Brock.

A number of local drivers have thrown their support behind the Eastern Creek round, including Sydney brothers Ben and Brian Bancroft, former state and national HQ Holden champion Kieren Pilkington, and Denis Pana.

Pana, in particular, is one to watch: along with his co-driver Chris Delfsma, he took out the inaugural Bendix Brakes Hard Charger Award for the Endurance Challenge, and with Bendix Brakes again sponsoring the Hard Charger Award for this round, look for Pana to make another charge through the field.

The race format returns to normal for Eastern Creek, with one practice and two qualifying sessions on Saturday, and three races on Sunday (including the top-10 reverse-grid race).

Commodore Cup National Series Round 4 – Race Program
Media Rides: 4:20 – 4:40pm
Practice: 9:25 – 9:45am
Qualifying 1: 12:10 – 12:30pm
Qualifying 2: 2:35 – 2:55pm
Race 1: 9:00am (9 laps)
Race 2: 12:20pm (9 laps)
Race 3: 3:40pm (9 laps)
Podium Presentation: 4:20pm

Commodore Cup National Series Round 4 – Entry List*
1. Michael Tancredi – Top Shelf Fruits VS
6. Steve Yates – Australian Motive Power Systems VS
7. Matt Chick – Renaissance Homes VH
11. Phillip Menzel – Menzel Glass VS
12. Josh Hughes – Blackwoods VS
13. Ben Bancroft – LBC Motorsport VS
23. Brian Bancroft – LBC Motorsport VS
24. Tony Bates – W.A. Freight Group / Alternative Freight Services VS
25. Allan Hill – RPM Racing VS
27. Brett Holdsworth – TTM Traffic & Parking / Hairy Lemon VS
33. Denis Pana – Paintmax VS
34. Tony Edwards – Romac / UPC VH
39. Nick Parker – Kilpa Motors / Conway Electrics / Lianou Building Constructions VS
40. Anthony Tancredi – Top Shelf Fruits VS
44. Scott Andrews – Gordon TAFE / Chequered Flag Media VS
68. Kieren Pilkington – Western EFI & Auto Electrical VS
77. Adam Lloyd – Adam’s Auto Electrics VS
84. Nathan Collins – Impact Window Tint VS
85. Jason Domaschenz – Bob Jane Geelong / Hurricane Leads VS
96. Jeff Watters – Automobility VS
99. Ross McGregor – Westcoast Windows VS
*Entry list correct at time of publication, but subject to change.
Website © Copyright 2007-2008 Race Torque Media. Content © Copyright 2007-2008 Shannons Nationals
| Contact the Shannons Nationals | Series Official Documents |