Saloon Car: Even contest expected at QR
25/05/2007 at 2:19:35 AM:

Now that Holden have a round win on the board, their drivers come to Queensland this weekend with renew vigor for what will be one of the closest duels in years between them and their Ford counterparts.

The latter group had been dominant leading up to the second round of the Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship. Queensland Raceway’s long straights should suit the Commodore whilst the Fords’ torque gives the Blue Oval boys the advantage getting out of the tighter corners.

At round two on the fast and flowing Phillip Island circuit in Victoria, the Holdens occupied three of the top four spots in qualifying and South Australia’s John Goodacre took the overall round win. But it was certainly no walkover. Indeed the Falcon of Kris Walton won two of the three races and only a tyre issue in the other prevented a domination by the Queenslander.

The Supaloc Saloon Cars are returning to Queensland Raceway this weekend for round three of their championship. In 2006 they raced a non-championship event there as a late call up support to the V8 Supercars. They turned on exciting group of races, particularly with Walton and reigning champion Bruce Heinrich racing side by side for lap after lap in their Falcons.

The Supaloc Saloon Cars were the talk of the pits, of the paddock and the spectator areas after these fascinating races. This weekend the entry is even stronger than then and the competition is expected to be even more fierce than before – specially with stronger Holdens in among the many quick Fords.

The Australian Saloon Car Company (TASCCO) is a foundation member of the CAMS National Racing Championship, one of the five core categories (Production Cars, F3, Saloon Cars, Commodore Cup and GT/Porsche) in partnership with CAMS that now make up the Shannons Nationals.

The popular six cylinder Holden Commodore verse Ford Falcon category is supported by Supaloc Steel Building Systems, Pedders Suspension, Kumho Tyres, Xtreme Clutch, EMS Fuel Injection, Cebco Brakes and CSA Alloy Wheels.

Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship Round 3 Entry List

1 Bruce Heinrich (SA) Ford Falcon AU

6 John Goodacre (SA) Holden Commodore VT

7 Scott Nicholas (SA) Ford Falcon AU

10 Brendon Tucker (QLD) Holden Commodore VN

13 Troy Hoey (QLD) Ford Falcon AU

17 Matt Lovell (SA) Ford Falcon AU

21 John Van Gilst (QLD) Holden Commodore VN

28 David Mitchell (NSW) Ford Falcon AU

30 Shawn Jamieson (SA) Holden Commodore VT

31 Robert Lonie (SA) Holden Commodore VT

34 Steve Kwiatkowski (SA) Ford Falcon AU

36 Jake Camilleri (QLD) Holden Commodore VT

41 Mark Primer (NSW) Ford Falcon EA

26 Tony Shanks (QLD) Ford Falcon AU

46 Paul Pennisi (VIC) Holden Commodore VT

56 Shane Smollen (NSW) Ford Falcon AU

60 Peter Dane (NSW) Ford Falcon AU

68 Kris Walton (QLD) Ford Falcon AU

87 David Rogers (NSW) Ford Falcon AU

82 Geoff Brown (VIC) Ford Falcon AU

98 Bradly Piggott (NSW) Ford Falcon AU

tba Rod Dawson (QLD) Ford Falcon AU

tba Lindsay Kearns (QLD) Ford Falcon EA

tba Michael Uebergang (QLD) Ford Falcon AU

Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship Round 1 Schedule


0930 Practice 1 Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship

1200 Practice 2 Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship

1430 Practice 3 Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship


1140 Qualifying 1 Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship

1340 Qualifying 2 Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship


1125 Race 1 Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship

1350 Race 2 Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship

1550 Race 3 Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship

Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship Calendar

Round 1 April 21/22 Oran Park (NSW)

Round 2 May 5/6 Phillip Island (VIC)

Round 3 May 26/27 Queensland Raceway (QLD)

Round 4 June 30/July 1 Mallala (SA)

Round 5 July 14/15 Eastern Creek (NSW)

Round 6 August 11/12 Phillip Island (VIC)

Round 7 October 13/14 Mallala (SA)

Round 8 December 8/9 Sandown (VIC)

Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship 2007 Points

Heinrich 181, Walton 177, Harvey 162, Goodacre 136, Fox 117, Lovell 115, Nicholas 86, Jamieson 81, Camilleri 71, Hoey 69, Kwiatkowski 61, Dane 56, Piggott 40, Brown 39, Carrington 38, Smollen 37, Sutherland 33, Rowse 30, B Niall 30, Lonie 27, Pennisi 26, Wade 17, M Niall 16, Mitchell 14, Burr 6.

Supaloc Australian Saloon Car Championship Past Champions

Heinrich 2006, Heinrich 2005, Harvey 2004, Heinrich 2003, Heinrich 2002.

Website © Copyright 2007-2008 Race Torque Media. Content © Copyright 2007-2008 Shannons Nationals
| Contact the Shannons Nationals | Series Official Documents |