Sub-minute Lap for McIlveen Pole
8/08/2009 at 6:58:21 AM:

Seven time Australian Superkart Champion, Warren McIlveen has set the agenda at the Rockpress Pacific Superkart Challenge at Morgan Park Raceway round of the Shannons Nationals Motor Racing Championships, taking pole position with a stunning quick sub-minute lap time.

McIlveen, driving his Stockman-Honda supported by Mac’s Marine and Soundy’s Retravision, nudged the minute barrier in the first qualifying session, before sitting back to wait to see what the competition could do. A squabbling quartet of 250cc International Superkarts led by the Top Dog Advertising PVP of Vince Livaditis closed to within a second of McIlveen’s lap time early in the second session. McIlveen went out and in a single lap on a set of old tyres McIlveen had been saving for a big event, secured pole position with a 59.7807.

Lividitis will share the front row of the grid in his PVP setting a 61.0508. Russell Jamieson improved to be third fastest in the Coach Design Stockman-Honda, who will share the second row of the grid with the Gas Action Services PVP-Honda of Steven Murray, while Jason Laker went backward trying a different compound tyre and dropped from third to fifth in final qualifying aboard the 1800 Bumper Stockman-Honda. Second place to fifth is covered by just eight tenths of a second.

It was John Pellicano though who established himself as the biggest threat to McIlveen’s chances in the Giova Design backed Avoig-Honda. With the points for the Rockpress Pacific Superkart Challenge decided by class results rather than outright results, Pellicano placed himself well by qualifying 2.2 seconds clear of the 125cc Superkart class. Behind Pellicano on the fourth row of the grid will be Brian Wild (N&G; Motor Repairs/Iguana Signs & Concepts Stockman-Honda and Drene Jamieson (Coach Design Stockman-Honda) with Phil Silcock (Rockpress Stockman-Honda) fourth in class in another tight grouping.

Tenth fastest was Stewart Bell (Traffic Management Services Gladiator-Yamaha) was a great result to take pole for the 85cc bracket and he will share the sixth row of the grid with Rotax Max pole position holder, David McAdam (RFC Race Team Hypermax-Rotax).

It was not smooth running throughout the field though with Iain McIntosh (Cystic Fibrosis Queensland Eliminator-Honda) breaking a front sprocket and Troy O’Brien unable to make the start in his PVP-Rotax after persistent engine related dramas could not be cured.

The first of four races will be held this afternoon at 3:00pm for six laps of the 2.1 kilometre Morgan Park Raceway layout ahead of three more races tomorrow, the final eight lap event deciding the 2009 Rockpress Pacific Superkart Challenge.
Website © Copyright 2007-2008 Race Torque Media. Content © Copyright 2007-2008 Shannons Nationals
| Contact the Shannons Nationals | Series Official Documents |