Walton hits back for Saloon pole
8/08/2009 at 8:04:32 AM:

After having his first qualifying time taken off him, local ace Kris Walton has gone under the lap record at Morgan Park to take pole for the first race of round five of the Kumho Tyres Australian Saloon Car Series at Morgan Park in Queensland today.

The former national series regular who has been runner up in the series in the past, has only been contesting state rounds for the majority of year. He set the fastest time in the first session but technical officials ruled on a suspension adjustment infringement and took the time away.

However he proved that it wasn’t an issue in getting fast laps by putting out a 1 minute 10.1308 second flyer in his Talbrace Ford Falcon AU to be nearly seven tenths of a second faster than his nearest rival.

Second quickest was the South African born Queenslander Grant Gatland in his similar AU while Tony Evangelou was the best of the interstaters with third in the TASSCO Falcon from Victoria, opting not to do session two.

Walton’s team mate Troy Hoey was fourth fastest in yet another Ford while South Australian Shawn Jamieson, the tearaway series leader in his Morphet Vale Garage Holden Commodore VT, also only did the first session and was content with fifth fastest.

Victorian Geoff Brown who aspires to finish second in the series finished sixth after breaking the V8touringcars.com Falcon AU’s gearbox in the morning session. Behind him with be a brace of local state Falcons which included John Val Gilst, Chris Berry, Lindsay Kearns and Gerald Miscamble, with the Nicholas Laracy and Richard Price Commodore next.

The fifth round of the Kumho Tyres Australian Saloon Car Championship will be contested over three ten lap races, one later today and two tomorrow.

2009 Kumho Tyres Australian Saloon Car Series Round Five Qualifying

1 Kris Walton (Qld) AU Falcon 1:10.1308
2 Grant Gatland (Qld) AU Falcon 1:10.8244
3 Tony Evangelou (Vic) AU Falcon 1:10.8516
4 Troy Hoey (Qld) AU Falcon 1:11.0760
5 Shawn Jamieson (SA) VT Commodore 1:11.1404
6 Geoff Brown (Vic) AU Falcon 1:11.4015
7 John Van Gilst (Qld) AU Falcon 1:11.7173
8 Chris Berry (Qld) AU Falcon 1:11.9274
9 Lindsay Kearns (Qld) EA Falcon 1:12.0472
10 Gerard Miscamble (Qld) AU Falcon 1:12.5167
11 Nicholas Laracy (Qld) VN Commodore 1:12.7262
12 Richard Price (Qld) VT Commodore 1:12.8683
13 Brian Hine (Qld) AU Falcon 1:13.3987
14 John Townsend (Qld) VN Commodore 1:13.4889
15 Mark Primmer (NSW) AU Falcon 1:13.6593
16 Wayne Patten (Qld) VT Commodore 1:13.6924
17 Gary Beggs (Qld) EA Falcon 1:13.7101
16 Anthony Conias (Qld) EA Falcon 1:13.7839
19 Marie Mare (Qld) VN Commodore 1:15.9781
Website © Copyright 2007-2008 Race Torque Media. Content © Copyright 2007-2008 Shannons Nationals
| Contact the Shannons Nationals | Series Official Documents |