All bets off for Oran Park farewell
26/08/2009 at 4:17:18 AM:

With the series already in his keeping, new Kumho Tyres Australian Saloon Car Champion Shawn Jamieson has been keenly anticipating a great stoush at Oran Park this weekend, August 29-30. “Yeah it’s going to be on!” he enthused. “John (Goodacre) is going over, Bruce (Heinrich) is back and there are some quick New South Wales guys wanting to farewell the track in style.”

If the predicted showers stay away, Jamieson and his series winning Morphet Vale Garages Holden Commodore VT are primed to set a lap record that will stand for all time but otherwise, the South Australian wants to keep his winning momentum going for the remainder of 2009.

Fellow South Aussie and pilot of the Brice Australian Commodore VT, Goodacre copped an unintentional bump from Jamieson at the Winton round four in race three, that put him into a tyre wall and out calculations. “We had some handling issues in Victoria in the wet races and that race it was dry and I thought we would be strong, but the hit from Jamo put me out on the second corner and knocked the front end around on one side,” he said after the incident.

It’s likely that the Adelaide mob will try dominating the round as Heinrich returns in Justin Garnett’s Ford Falcon AU. The five time series winner sold his car after last year and took a guest drive at Bathurst round one this year before concentrating on his son’s karting career as well as taking on the role of technical officer for the youngster’s group.

While the men from SA have been entrenched at the top end of Saloon Cars in recent years, their greatest rivals have come from Queensland – but not so this weekend. A stella group of locals, some quite new to the category are expected to take over the fight to be the dominant state.

Former Development Series driver Nigel Stones debuts in a Falcon as too ex Formula Vee journeyman Ian Chivas who is having a run in the second of Mark Primmer’s Dial Before You Dig Falcon AUs. The other debutant will be Jason Tilley, younger brother of Brad and Cameron who are well known for their exploits in Historic Touring Cars – Jason himself also well versed in those cars as well as the cut and thrust of the HQ Holden category.

One of the strong locals will be Gavyn Croft in a VT which has only raced sparingly in the national series, likewise the father and son duo of Peter and Ryan as well as Luke Westall and Dean Kelland in their Falcons.

Still while the series winner may have been resolved, the battle for second is not over. “By my reckoning there are about eleven guys who can still finish as runner up,” says series administrator Les Morrall. Two of his charges, the Victorian Tony Evangelou and Geoff Brown Fords are very much in the picture as is West Australian Dan Gate in his Falcon.

Victorian Paul Pennisi crashed his VT at Winton, missed Morgan Park but is now back. Northern NSW’s David Rogers scored top ten results in his Ford at Morgan Park and is hoping for an even better effort in more familiar surroundings and Gate won’t be the only West Aussie, he will be joined by the Holdens of Terry Mason, Tony Mason and Frank Panizza. The token Queenslander will be Coleby Cowham in his older EA Falcon.

2009 Kumho Tyres Australian Saloon Car Series Round Six Entry
5 Dan Gate (WA) Gate Trenching Ford Falcon AU
6 John Goodacre (SA) Brice Australia/GaP Solutions Holden Commodore VT
10 Tony James (WA) AMCAP/Just Commodore Holden Commodore VT
11 Terry Mason (WA) T & N Sheetmetal Holden Commodore VT
15 Shawn Jamieson (SA) Morphett Vale Garage Holden Commodore VT
20 Tony Evangelou (VIC) TASCCO Ford Falcon AU
22 Bruce Heinrich (SA) Northern Auto Gas Ford Falcon AU
25 Coleby Cowham (QLD) Coleby Cowham Ford Falcon EA
27 Luke Westall (NSW) Transley Solutions Ford Falcon AU
32 Jason Tilley (NSW) Brian French Holden Commodore VT
41 Mark Primmer (NSW) Dial Before You Dig Ford Falcon AU
42 Ian Chivas (NSW) Dial Before You Dig Ford Falcon AU
43 Ryan Dane (NSW) Apollo Products Ford Falcon AU
46 Paul Pennisi (VIC) Woodstock Racing Holden Commodore VT
52 Dean Kelland (NSW) Wholesale Suspension Ford Falcon AU
60 Peter Dane (NSW) Apollo Products Ford Falcon AU
76 Nigel Stones (NSW) Seal Automotive Ford Falcon AU
82 Geoff Brown (VIC) V8 Touring Cars Ford Falcon AU
87 David Rogers (NSW) Manual Transmission Factory Ford Falcon AU
88 Gavyn Croft (NSW) Croft Motorsport Holden Commodore VT
93 Frank Panizza (WA) Just Commodore Holden Commodore VT

Kumho Tyres Australian Saloon Car Series Points (after five rounds)
S. Jamieson (VT) 500, K. Walton (AU) 252, G. Brown (AU) 206, T. Rowse (VT) 199, T. Evangelou (AU) 162, T. Hoey (AU) 138, C. Harvey (AU) 136, S. Milton (AU) 134, J. Goodacre (VT) 125, M. Davidson (VT) 119, D. Gate (AU) 113, S. Kwiatkowski (VT) 105, P. Pennisi (VT) 97, G. Gatland (AU) 93, M. Primmer (AU) 88, S. Tabinor (VT) 71, R. Dawson (AU) 67, S. Kwiatkowski (AU) 66, A. Nowland (AU) 63, J. Van Gilst (AU) 49, D. Hodge (AU) 48, R. Price (VT) 47, D. Rogers (AU) 47, B. Niall (AU) 45, P. Dane (AU) 43, N. Laracy (VN) 42, N. Maltby (VN) 41, B. Hienrich (AU) 38, B. Burr (AU) 37, D. Youlden (AU) 27, L. Kearns (EA) 25, G. Miscample (AU) 23, B. Fox (AU) 23, D. Panizza (VT) 22, B. Hine (AU) 22, J. Towsend (VN) 19, B. French (VT) 18, W. Patten (VT) 17, D. Heath (AU) 17, M. Niall (AU) 16, C. Berry (AU) 16, G. Beggs (EA) 16, M. Seal (AU) 14, L. Westall (AU) 12, T. Shanks (AU) 11, A. Conias (EA) 10, M. Mare (VN) 9, B. Stratos (VT) 7, J. Borich (AU) 7, B. Piggott (AU) 5, S. Piavanini (VT) 4, T. Mason (VT) 4, K. Millier (EA) 4, F. Panizza (VT) 3, M. Carra (AU) 3, R. Millier (EA) 3, G. Papageorgio (EA) 3, K. Stevens (EA) 3, R. Drummond (EA) 3, W. Christie (AU) 2, R. Lonie (VT) 2, W. King (EA) 2, G. Croft (VT) 2, M. Pilatti (VT) 2, V. Ciallella (VT) 2, D. Kelland (AU) 2, T. James (VT) 2, M. Barbara (VN) 1, G. Niclasen (VN) 1, R. Dane (AU) 1, M. Lovell (AU) 0.

*NOTE: Cannot accumulate points in different makes.

Kumho Tyres Australian Saloon Car Round Six Schedule
Friday August 28: Three 20 minute Practice sessions @ 9:50, 12:30 and 15:10.
Saturday August 29: Qualifying 1 @ 10:15, Qualifying 2 @ 13:20, Race 1 (10 laps) @ 16:00.
Sunday August 30: Race 2 (10 laps) @ 11:25, Race 3 (10 laps) @ 13:50.

Kumho Tyres Australian Saloon Car Series 2009 Calendar
Round 1 – Bathurst – February 20-22
Round 2 – Phillip Island – May 16-17
Round 3 – Mallala – June 06-07
Round 4 – Winton – June 27-28
Round 5 – Morgan Park – August 08-09
Round 6 – Oran Park – August 29-30
Round 7 – Sandown – November 28-29
Website © Copyright 2007-2008 Race Torque Media. Content © Copyright 2007-2008 Shannons Nationals
| Contact the Shannons Nationals | Series Official Documents |