Commodore Cup: Brett Bounces Back!
3/07/2007 at 3:10:25 PM:

After three controversial, intense races that made up the third round of the Empire Trade Exchange Commodore Cup championship, Insight Racing’s Brett Holdsworth came up with the overall round win with second place in the first two races and first in the final. It was a great comeback from Holdsworth after a nightmare result in the previous round of the series at Phillip Island.

The weekend was filled with incidents, with several drivers experiencing mechanical problems. There were also numerous collisions and near-misses, the most controversial of which was the incident between Holdsworth and Geoff Emery in the final corner of race two. The pair had battled ferociously all race long, but when Emery made a lunge under brakes into the final corner, the two cars made contact, sending Emery into the wall and leaving Michael Graham as the surprised winner.

Emery averted disaster by sliding sideways across the finish-line in his damaged car to finish third, before a big repair job from his team allowed him to make the grid for the final race and score just enough points to hold onto his championship lead.

Daniel Richert won the first race, but his chances of a second-straight round win were dashed when his front-left tyre went flat while he was leading the second race.

Graham’s bid for the round win was scotched when he scored a drive-through penalty for jumping the start of race three from pole position.

In the end, Holdsworth’s consistent performances allowed him to take his first-ever Commodore Cup round win from Graham and Richert.

“We’ve had plenty of pole positions, race wins and podium finishes, but we’ve finally broken the six-year drought,” an elated Holdsworth said after the race. “The Insight team did a great job to fix my car after the clutch pressure-plate exploded at Phillip Island, and this is a fantastic reward for their efforts.”

Holdsworth also moved from 12th up to fifth in the championship, while Emery leads by just a solitary point from Richert, with Graham and Geoff Fontaine equal third.

Top 10 Championship Pointscore

1. Geoff Emery – 402 points

2. Daniel Richert – 401 points

=3. Michael Graham – 315 points

=3. Geoff Fontaine – 315 points

5. Brett Holdsworth – 287 points

6. Tony Bates – 284 points

7. Ross McGregor – 283 points

8. Adam Lloyd – 282 points

9. Allan Hill – 259 points

10. Ashley Cooper – 246 points
Website © Copyright 2007-2008 Race Torque Media. Content © Copyright 2007-2008 Shannons Nationals
| Contact the Shannons Nationals | Series Official Documents |