Commodore Cup: Measured, Methodical win for Emery
19/07/2007 at 10:44:07 AM:

Geoff Emery has become the first double Empire Trade Exchange Commodore Cup round-winner of 2007 after taking overall honours in the fourth round at Eastern Creek last weekend. Emery qualified third and finished second in the first two races, before winning the final.

Daniel Richert showed blistering pace in qualifying to take his second-consecutive pole position. He then dominated the opening race, but a broken diff-spool after the final corner cruelly robbed him of victory. Michael Graham pounced for his second opportunistic race-win of the season, while Richert limped home in third.

Richert was able to pass both Graham and Emery to win the second race, while Brett Holdsworth clawed his way up to third with a brilliant switchback move to pass Graham on the final lap.

Emery’s TAG Motorsport team made some changes to his car for the final race, and after initially following Richert, he passed the Axent car to take the lead on the third lap before cruising to victory.

Richert finished second overall, while Graham’s hopes of a podium finish were dashed when he pulled into the pits on the second lap of the final race with a mechanical problem. Brett Holdsworth took advantage to take third place for the weekend.

The series is still extremely tight, with Emery leading Richert by just four points. The top six drivers all have a mathematical chance of leading the series ahead of the next round at Phillip Island, August 11-12.

Top 10 Championship Pointscore

1. Geoff Emery – 542 points

2. Daniel Richert – 538 points

3. Geoff Fontaine – 423 points

4. Michael Graham – 421 points

5. Brett Holdsworth – 407 points

6. Tony Bates – 392 points

7. Adam Lloyd – 384 points

8. Ross McGregor – 378 points

9. Allan Hill – 348 points

10. Ashley Cooper – 246 points

Website © Copyright 2007-2008 Race Torque Media. Content © Copyright 2007-2008 Shannons Nationals
| Contact the Shannons Nationals | Series Official Documents |