APCC: Holt homes in on title
30/10/2007 at 2:49:24 AM:

Finishing second in each of the one-hour legs of the Shannons 250 has allowed Garry Holt to extend his outright lead in the 2007 Shannons Australian Production Car Championship at Mallala on October 14-15.

The BMW 335i Turbo driver was declared the round winner (in the points chase) when first race victor Ric Shaw was excluded for allegedly being under weight post race, and second event first across the line, the pairing of Michael Brock and Stephen Knight, were not series regulars and couldn’t score championship points.

However there was consolation for the duo as they were declared overall trophy winners in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8 whilst Holt’s team mate Barry Morcom was third in both races, third overall and second in the points chase.

Knight and Brock were the pace setters throughout this sixth round of the Shannons Insurance backed series. The Lancer was the fastest qualifier and after the handicap start, Knight quickly led the charge of the fast cars to the front. They were the last to make the compulsory pit stop when 1 minute 07 seconds in front.

Complications arose at the schedule pit stop with one of the two wheel changes suffering a glitch and costing them dearly – they (Brock) would rejoin around a minute down on Shaw and third – Holt was in between. All SP class cars had to change two wheels, Class A one while Class B similarly undertook a drive through the pits. Class C were not required to pit at all.

There was no catching Shaw on the track but Brock brought his deficit to Holt down to less than three seconds in the end. Mike Fitzgerald parked Chris Delfsma’s Falcon XR8 early (lap seven) on the inside of the sweeper with a blown clutch and Leigh Mertens rolled his HSV Commodore at turn seven when it lost all brakes.

Morcom and Steve Briffa (Commodore SS) also had brake issues and finished nose to tail 15 secs ahead of David Giugni (Cooper S) as Jim Hunter (Impreza RS) and Danielle Argiro (Holden Vectra) battled for Class C honour for the entire race – barely more than four seconds apart through the course of the hour.

Knight and Brock had a lengthy stop in the second race, but were able to come back and overcome the BMWs for a win. Incredibly Mertens was able to have his HSV patched up and finished fourth ahead of Briffa.

A lap down was James Parrish (RX7), Fitzgerald/Delfsma and Trevor Keene in the Mini. Warren Bossie retired the Impreza after eight laps to make a flight back to Sydney and Amber Anderson soldiered on in the Vectra with an fuel-related engine malady.

All the race action from round six of the Shannons Australian Production Car Championship will be SBS’s Speedweek program this Sunday October 28, screening from 1:30 pm.All the latest news is on the website http://www.pcaa.com.au/, and for information regarding the 2007 Shannons APCC and Production Car racing, contact Garry Mennell – Series Administrator – on 02 4577 2779 or [email protected] e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it


1 Garry Holt (NSW) BMW 335i Turbo – Class SP – 01:01:17.2617 2 Stephen Knight (SA)/Michael Brock (SA) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo – Class SP – 01:01:19.4958 3 Barry Morcom (NSW) BMW 335i Turbo – Class SP – 42 laps4 Steve Briffa (NSW) Holden Commodore VY HSV – Class A – 42 laps 5 David Giugni (NSW) Mini Cooper S – Class B – 42 laps 6 Jim Hunter (NSW) Subaru Impreza RS – Class C – 41 laps 7 Danielle Argiro (NSW) Holden Vectra – Class C – 41 laps DNF Leigh Mertens (VIC) Holden Commodore VY HSV – Class SP – 10 laps DNF Michael Fitzgerald (NSW)/Chris Delfsma (NSW) Ford Falcon BA XR8 – Class A – 6 laps EXC Ric Shaw (NSW) Mazda RX7 – Class SP Trophy Fastest lap: Knight 1:19.5043 (new lap record) Race Two (42 laps) One Hour Endurance


Outright: Holt 60, Morcom 50, Briffa 42, Keene 36, Mertens 22, Delfsma 18. Class SP: Holt 60, Morcom 50, LMertens 22. Class A: Briffa 60, Delfsma 25.

Class B: Keene 60. Class SP Trophy: Parish 5. Trophy Class: Anderson 5, Argiro 5.

SHANNONS AUSTRALIAN PRODUCTION CAR CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS (after round six)Outright: Holt 337, Morcom 279, Briffa 262, L Mertens 256, Delfsma 200, Keene 170, Searle 149, G Walden 140, D Mertens 126, Kelly 103, Moffat 82, Booker 71, Osborne 67, Bretherton 62, Letcher 52, Turner 52, Callaghan 52, Shephard 50, I Sherrin 47, G Sherrin 47, Conroy 42, Hunter 38, Graham 32, B Walden 28, Craig 26, Robson 20.

Class SP: Holt 465, Morcom 403, L Mertens 321.

Class A: Briffa 453, Delfsma 358, G Walden 299, Searle 245, Kelly 149, Shephard 116, Moffat 96, Letcher 77, Turner 77, Callaghan 77, B Walden 69, Graham 67, Craig 66.

Class B: Keene 394, Osborne 96, Bretherton 90, Mertens 88, L Mertens 82, Robson 82, Booker 80, Conroy 77.

Class C: D Mertens 178, Hunter 113, I Sherrin 96, G Sherrin 96, Bossie 30.

Class D: Booker 96.

Class SP Trophy: Parish 58, Miller 14.

Trophy Class: Fitzgerald 20, Anderson 19, Robson 15, Cook 14, Rubis 13, Argiro 5, Mennell 5, Mork 4.


Rd1 Apr 07-09 Oran Park NSW

Rd2 May 05-06 Phillip Island VIC

Rd3 May 26-27 Queensland Raceway QLD

Rd4 Jul 14-15 Eastern Creek NSW

Rd5 Aug 11-12 Phillip Island VIC

Rd6 Oct 13-14 Mallala Motorsport Park SA

Rd7 Nov 03-04 Oran Park NSW

Rd8 Dec 08-09 Sandown Park VIC
Website © Copyright 2007-2008 Race Torque Media. Content © Copyright 2007-2008 Shannons Nationals
| Contact the Shannons Nationals | Series Official Documents |